Guest Reviews

Our guests come from all over the world and around Australia. We also welcome locals from Cape York all the way down to Townsville and many other Australians from all over our great country. The cool Mungumby Lodge air, gardens, and waterfalls flowing all year and not to forget the yummy food.

Nature presenter Sir David Attenborough and Atlantic Productions based their team here for 4 nights to film the closing summary of “First Life”

Here are two articles published by Travel Journalists.

Schweizer Illustrierte article by Anne Reither

Aquanaut Dive Magazine written by Harald Mielke

Some of our recent guest reviews:-

29th October  2018

Wer träumt nicht vom Regenwald mit allen seinen Gerüchen und Geräuschen, Blumen und Bäumen, hier in dieser malerischen Lodge bin ich diesem Ideal sehr nahe gekommen. Ganz versteckt am Ende der Straße ein Kleinod, praktische Häuschen, ein großzügiges Heerenhaus mit luftiger Terrasse. Und alles mit viel Liebe eingerichtet. Eine wahre Wohltat nach den vielen, doch sehr durchschnittlichen Hotels, gesichtslos und manchmal vergessen, so schön auch die Rundreise war.

Ich wünsche den Betreibern eine erfolgreiche Zukunft. Mögen sich auch die anderen Gäste so geborgen fühlen, wie ich.

Herzlichen Dank für die Gastfreundschaft.

Walter Rilens

16th October 2018

Das waren 2 wunderbare Tage in diesem Paradies. Wir wurden toll und sehr lecker bekocht – das Abendessen war köstlich! So gut kann man hier nirgendwo sonst essen. Die Lodge ist ein kleines Paradies mit sehr nett eingerichteten und komfortablen Zimmern.

Und wenn wir irgendwelche Fragen zu Tieren, Vögeln, Schlangen, Natur und Sehenswürdigkeiten hatten, wurden wir perfekt und sehr unterhltsam beraten. Wir hatten eine tolle Zeit – zu kurz – wer Zeit hat sollte schon 3 Nächte einplanen.

Vielen Dank von Gabriele + Karl Kuhlen

09th October 2018

Danke für 2 erholsame Tage! Tolle Gastfreundschaft, super Essen, einfach tolle Unterkunft.

Das Wetter war gut, wir konnten Zeit am Pool verbringen.

Wir würden jederzeit wiederkommen.

Jürgen und Iris Schulken

02nd October 2018

Nachdem wir einige Tage in Alice Springs und Umgebung verbracht haben waren wir begeistert von der hiesigen Vegetation.

Das Wasser oben am Wasserfall ist wärmer als der Pool.

Wir haben zwar kein Krokodil sehen können dafür aber einige Wallabys. Übermorgen geht es wieder zurück in das kalte Deutschland.

Lisa–Marie, Alina, Birgit & Otto

17th September 2018

Thank you Isabella, Hamish & team,

we loved being able to share in your little part of paradise. It is such a pleasure to spend time in a place that treasures nature as much as you do. Thank you for all your Cooktown and animal advice! We will have to come back in summer to meet some more of your resident reptile friends. Until then take care.

Katherine & Nathan

2nd September 2018

The very best of the beautiful places & remarkable people you find on the Cape. Thank you Hamish & Isabella.

Minny & Henrick Nicholas
Woollahla, NSW

25.08.2018

Wir haben mitten im Regenwald ein kleines Paradies kennengelernt und enorm genossen.

Nach bald einem Monat ereignisreicher Ferien ein Ort und Menschen zu entdecken, die am gleichen Ort aufgewachsen sind, ist doch ein seltener Zufall. So viele Erinnerungen an die Jugendzeit!

Herzlichen Dank für die tolle Gastfreundschaft und das feine Essen und weiterhin alles Gute!

Jürg und Isabelle Siegrist

24/8/18

Hi Hamish & Isabella

We did indeed enjoy our stay very much.

The standard of our cabin was better than we expected. Our meals were all delightful and delicious, and a lovely break from the basic cooking and takeaways that are the usual reality when we are travelling.

Yourselves, Trish & Claire were all so friendly and helpful – which added to the atmosphere of relaxation at Mungumby.

Also, for us, the birdlife (and butterflies) around / nearby to Mungumby Lodge were a real bonus.  Once we finish culling our photos we’ll send you a few.  We are getting too old (and arthritic) to do the steeper walks around your property but still enjoyed wandering down to the waterfall and around the beginning of the tracks where we still saw a good variety of birds – including a few that we did not see elsewhere this trip.

We are home again, having enjoyed our whole holiday, and will definitely recommend Mungumby Lodge to our birding friends.

thanking you                          

Belinda & Bill
Burrum Heads | Qld, Australia

21st August 2018

We loved staying in your beautiful lodge. It was nice, very quiet and 24hrs of nature sounds. The walks were amazing (and steep) Thank you for the great hospitality and the meals with extra vegetables! We wish you happiness in your fantastic paradise.

Wim, Ingrid & Kris Heemskerk
Holland

18th August 2018

You have a wonderful oasis in the middle of the rainforest. Many thanks for your hospitality and for your stewardship of the local environment.

Stuart & Karen Smith
Brisbane

18th August 2018

Wow! Awesome to be able to experience this pocket of our own country. Such a pleasant stay on our journey. A++ for your hospitality, much appreciated. Thanks Hamish & the ladies J

Paul & Dee
Bli Bli, Sunshine Coast, QLD

17th August 2018

Thank you for your wonderful hospitality. We enjoyed our rainforest walk and the waterfall was a sight to be seen. Luckily we built up an appetite as our evening meal was delicious. Overall impressive and somewhere I’m sure we will return.

Peter Mackay
Townsville

30th July 2018

What a chance to be your guests. Almost speechless to say how awesome this place is. This lodge is just AMAZING….so grateful having been here.

Danielle Berches & Sou Christoph
Grand-Duochy of Luxembourg

30th July 2018

Relaxing in Paradise!

Hamish & Isabella you took very good care of us, very attentive and an eye for detail. With so much enthusiasm, Was a pity we only booked three nights, it should have been weeks!

Hans, Monique, Miloa & Jasper Huizenga
the Netherlands

19th July 2018

Enjoyed the whole experience of staying in such a beautiful setting, wonderful hospitality and magnificent meal. Thank you so much, I will be back.

Alison Smith.

7th July 2018

Mungumby Lodge & Its beautiful forest is superlative literally superb…..The Garden of Eden before the fall….paradise on earth.

Highly recommended

Derek Perkins
Queensland Lawyers Cairns

7th July 2018

Es war wunderschoen!! Und toll das Baden bei den Felsen.

Kayla Hofheinz

Zurich, Switzerland

17/6/18

Thank you so much for your hospitality in this beautiful paradise the meals have been amazing and we have enjoyed the freshly cooked food. We will recommend to friends and family!

Helen & Neil Wright
Kent | United Kingdom

20/06/18

Thank you Hamish & Isabella for the fantastic rainforest experience we had. There was sun and rain, calm and wind, a tranquil walk along creek, a feast in dinner with delicious food and enough python & other nature stories to keep our memories coming back to here for a long time. Mungumby is a beautiful paradise – we love it and your great hospitality.

Sue & Tony Donald 
Sydney | NSW

20/03/18

No TV, no Internet, no phone connection – where do you find a place like this. We enjoyed very much the 2 nights, the pool and the great hospitality and service, Sleeping in the rainforest while it rained heavily, what an experience. We wish many more Waratah Tour guests the same.

Thank you for your hospitality

Heinz & Frederike Schultner
Cologne, Germany

 28/2/2018

Dear Hamish & Isabella

It’s been a few crazy months since we returned to New Orleans, but we wanted to thank you for your hospitality, and for sharing your incredible piece of the world with us! Time at the lodge and in the surrounding rainforest was certainly good for our souls, a well needed recharge and a chance to reconnect.  Many, many thanks and hope you have a happy healthy 2018.

Cheers!

Ellen & David
New Orleans, USA

06/02/2018

We had a great time in the jungle. We enjoyed the rain on the roof, the walk through the trees, seeing and listening to the birds & frog! Nature PURE!

Wonderful that lodges like Mungumby are still possible and operating successfully. Good food & service, caring for customers and lots of stories about jungle adventures are your ingredients for success! Keeping going! We love it!

If we can, we will be back!

Best regards
Roland & Hildergund Haude
Obershausen, Germany

21/12/2017

Lieber Hamish und Leiber Isabella, Es hat uns hier besonders gutgefallen. Der wasserfall ist traumhaft! Man sollte aber nicht von den Felsenspringen, Wir kommen sicher wieder

Alex, Niamh, Sinead & Michael
Vienna, Austria

Some things we do ask you to remember

Please be aware that this region of the world is also home to exotic species of flora and fauna. We therefore ask you, to always pay attention to warning signs, especially if you are out there exploring the area without a professional guide.

Swimming from November to May should only be undertaken around Mungumby Lodge or the Annan River gorge where the waters are Croc free and safe. At the beach you can minimise the risk of stinger-injury by wearing a stinger-resistant wet-suit. The rest of the year is abide by the signage and are aware of the risks we have wonderful beaches that offer excellent ocean swimming.

Tips for your trip

When packing, don’t forget that temperatures in Far North Queensland vary from dry season (May – Dec) to wet season (Jan – April). In the dry season the weather is normally warm to hot during the day, and can also get quite cool at nights. Pack light protective clothing to avoid sunburn, insect bites.

During the wet season we recommend you pack light waterproof clothing suitable for humid conditions. The wet season is a very nice time of the year and a time where you are sure to see more wildlife.

At whichever time of the year, we recommend you wear sturdy trekking or walking shoes / boots.